The history of the Village Suisse is related to the 1900 Paris Universal Exhibition. At a time, when economic abundance and industrial expansion were to be honored, each European country stood to show a still more remarkable showcase to the world.
Thus Switzerland wanted to represent his country closer to its authenticity by re-creating the very realistic scenery of a Swiss village.
Three years of work were needed to the three hundred workers to produce a work equal to the excess of the project.
An area of 21,000 square meters was used to assemble cottages, rustic houses and huge plates on which were fixed castings made directly to the alpine rocks.
The range was completed with a picturesque lake, a waterfall and trees. To make the village even more "alive", three hundred Swiss natives moved to perpetuate the traditions: craftsmen, embroiderers and spinners, cheese producers....
The success was up to the aspirations of the two architects Charles Henneberg and Jules Allemand.
Many visitors discovered the charm of the village.
After exposure, the Swiss village was dismantled and moved. The Ferris Wheel, which had given dizzy to so many visitors, continued to offer its enchantment twenty years.
At the end of World War II that the village grown and developed as an antiquities market until it became unavoidable.
968, a particularly ambitious program of renovation turned the old "swiss village" into a modern market well known of Parisians.
Nowadays, In a historical environment, the Village Suisse is home to hundreds of antique dealers and decorators.